## Subsection 2.—The Ministry

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of Government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

## 2.—Prime Ministers Since Confederation

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in the corresponding tables of subsequent editions of the Year Book.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration
1	Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald	July 1, 1867 - Nov. 6, 1873
2	Hon. Alexander Mackenzie	Nov. 7, 1873 - Oct. 16, 1878
3	Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald	Oct. 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891
4	Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott	June 16, 1891 - Dec. 5, 1892
2 3 4 5 6 7 8	Hon, Sir John S. D. Thompson	
6	Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell	
7	Right Hon. Sir CHARLES TUPPER	May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896
8	Right Hon, Sir Wilfrid Laurier	
9	Right Hon, Sir Robert L. Borden	
		(Conservative Administration)
10	Right Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden	Oct. 12, 1917 - July 10, 1920
		(Unionist Administration)
11	Right Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN	July 10, 1920 - Dec. 29, 1921
	A ST C ST BEAUTIMENTS SECTION BEAUTIMENT AND THE TOTAL OF THE ST TOTAL OF THE ST AND THE	(Unionist—"National Liberal
		and Conservative Party")
12	Right Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING	Dec. 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926
13	Right Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN	June 29, 1926 - Sept. 25, 1926
14	Right Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING	
15	Right Hon. RICHARD BEDFORD BENNETT.	
16	Right Hon, WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING	

## 3.-Members of the Sixteenth Dominion Ministry as at Feb. 1, 1945

(According to precedence of the Ministers)

Office	Occupant	Date of Appointment <sup>1</sup>			
Prime Minister, President of the Privy Council, Secretary of State for External Affairs. Minister of Mines and Resources. Member of the Administration and Minister without portfolio.  Minister of Veterans Affairs.  Minister of National Defence for Air. Minister of Finance. Minister of Transport.  Minister of Munitions and Supply and Minister of Reconstruction.	King, C.M.G. Hon. Thomas Alexander Crerar. Hon. James H. King, M.D., C.M., F.A.C.S., LL.D.  Hon. Ian Alistair Mackenzie, K.C  Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley, K.C Hon. Joseph Enoil Michaud, K.C	Oct. 23, Oct. 23, May 26, Oct. 23, Sept.19, Oct. 13, Oct. 23, July 8, Oct. 7, Oct. 23, Apr. 9, Oct. 13.	1935 1942 1935 1939 1944 1935 1940 1942 1935 1940		
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. James Garfield Gardiner	Oct. 28, Jan. 23,	1935 1939		